Origin of the five pillars of the Reiki method

In the course of the spread of Reiki and the development of several Reiki styles in many countries, it is sometimes difficult to understand what belongs to the original. There should be a common ground approached between all styles of Reiki, where you can recognize their authenticity. These are the five pillars of Reiki. They are the cornerstones of the Usui Reiki healing method.

Usui rules of life – calligraphy by Dr. Mark Hosak, 2015Creative Commons Lizenzvertrag

When the Japanese Mikao Usui, the founder of the Reiki healing method, developed his Reiki method, he let philosophical and practical contents of the secret teachings of Buddhism (mikkyo 密 教), shamanism (Shinto 神道), the shamanic-magical Daoism of the Bergaskets (Shugendo修 験 道) and incorporated the Confucian manners and teachings of the samurai flow into his system. It seems to him to be a particular concern to find himself thru spiritual development with spiritual exercises for his own primeval. With the Reiki method, Usui has created a self-discovery path and self-healing way. Both can be utilized by applying the five pillars of Reiki to both ones self and those in need.

The five pillars of Reiki

Reiki and laying on of hands

Reiki is a power and the spiritual life energy, which is transmitted predominantly over the palms (tenohira 掌) for healing with laying on of hands (teate 手 当). Reikiism by putting one’s hands on the body or holding and moving one’s hands in the aura is the basis for the applications of the Reiki healing method.

Reiki and initiations

In order to bring the Reiki power to flow in humans, it requires the attunements or initiations by an experienced Reiki master. With Mikao Usui there was an attunement that had to be repeated from time to time to maintain the Reiki power. This he called Reiju 靈 授. Literally, Reiju means ‚to receive the spiritual‘. One of Usui’s students and master, the doctor and officer Chujiro Hayashi then introduced the system of four initiations. These are given in 1st level seminar. These are the traditional four initiations, as taught by Ms. Takata for the spread of Reiki in the West, to sustain the Reiki force for a lifetime. In the 2nd level Reiki there is then another initiation into the three Reiki symbols and then for the Reiki master’s initiation into the Master symbol.

Reiki Symbols and Mantras

To expand the possibilities, there are Reiki symbols and mantras. These are named differently depending on the historical source. If a symbol has a Buddhist origin, it is called Siddham (symbol) and mantra (spoken tool to complete the heart / mind). These are mostly based on the esoteric or tantric Buddhism of the Shingon School and Tendai School. Mantra and Siddham means in Japanese (shingon 真言). If the origin is found more in Shinto and Shugendo, one speaks of characters (shirushi し る し) and magical spells (jumon 呪 文).

Reiki Meditations and mental exercises

As a Buddhist monk, Usui had emphasized meditation and spiritual/mental exercises, such as breathing techniques, to train the supernatural abilities of ones natural talents.

Reiki and the rules of life

The Reiki rules of life (gokai 五戒) are the philosophical foundation of the Reiki healing method. In particular, it is about five simple sentences, with which one can lead a happy life. They are described as a secret method of inviting happiness and as a spiritual herb or as a spiritual medicine for 10,000 or countless illnesses in body, soul and spirit. Especially on this day… do not annoy neither you or others do not worry be thankful take care of your karma be kind to all living beings This is followed by the instructions that you should put your hands together in front of your heart morning and evening, that you may direct the enlightenment into your spiritual heart and that you may recite it aloud. You can learn the five pillars as part of the 1st level Shingon Reiki seminar and all subsequent seminars.